Regulations

Uber, Lyft Now Regulated Under Michigan Law

Posted on March 22, 2017

Photo via Flickr user SPUR
Photo via Flickr user SPUR
The bill requires criminal background checks of drivers including a zero tolerance policy on drivers that use drugs or alcohol while driving.  It also requires inspections on vehicles more than five years old.  

Drivers now have to be at least 19 years old. They cannot have more than four moving violations in the last three years, or one major violation. They cannot have any felony convictions in the previous five years, or be listed on the National Sex Offender Public Website.  A carrier that deliberately allows someone to drive in violation of the law faces a fine up to $1,000 per violation and up to 90 days in jail.

WZZM 13 article here

Related Topics: Lyft, Michigan operators, regulatory enforcement, state regulations, TNCs, Uber

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories