TRENTON, N.J. — New Jersey operators were working with
state officials to amend a new law that requires out-of-
state operators to pay $250 per year for each of their cars
making runs into the Garden State.
State officials tabled enforcement of the new law after
members of the Limousine Associations of New Jersey told
the state Attorney General’s office that a portion of the
law contradicts the federal Real Interstate Drivers Equity
Act of 2001.
RIDEA excludes operators from having to pay fees to
governments outside their home state.
Gov. Jim McGreevy signed the new law earlier this year as
part of a budget-balancing measure. It was set to be
imposed in October and would have affected out-of-state
operators making runs between Newark Airport and out-of-
The state Attorney General’s office was using its
regulatory powers to revise the language of the new law so
that only out-of-state operators conducting point-to-point
service within the state would have to pay the $250 fee,
according to Barry Lefkowitz, LANJ executive director.
Lefkowitz expected the revised law to be in place by the
first of the year.
Tom McCarthy, administrative analyst for N.J. Department of
Motor Vehicles, who sits on a state limousine advisory
board with several members of the LANJ, alerted the LANJ to
the problem with the law.
To make enforcement easier, each registered vehicle will
bear a diamond sticker, similar to those given to vehicles
registered by the New York City Taxi & Limousine Commission.
The LANJ is hoping enforcement will add teeth to the
state’s Limo Law, which among other things requires
operators to maintain $1.5 million in liability insurance
and restricts sedan-based limousines to nine passengers and
SUV-based limousines to 12 passengers.
The LANJ supports enforcement of the Limo Law and Lefkowitz
has been educating agencies and school systems about its